Know Your Rights:

A Guide to Consumer Rights

Statement of Consumer Rights
You have the right to:

v’ Services without discrimination of age, race, religion,
ethnicity, family background, sexual orientation or
disability

Be treated with respect

Be active in making a service plan that meets your needs

Refuse to participate in services
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Know and understand what may happen if you refuse to
accept services that are offered

<\

Protection of confidential information according to state
statutes

Filing a Grievance

If you have a concern about the services you received
through the Children’s Division, you may file a grievance.
Anyone who received services within the last 30 days can
file a grievance. If a child under the age of 12 would like to
file a grievance, they will need the help of a parent,
guardian, out-of-home care provider, or Guardian Ad
Litem (GAL).

The grievance process cannot help with complaints about
a court ruling, a current state statute, judicial assignments
(including the GAL or Court Appointed Special Advocate),
foster/adoptive licensing revocations or denials, or any
subsidy denials.

To file a grievance, visit your local Children’s Division office
and ask for a Service Delivery Grievance Form (CS-131).
Follow the instructions and complete Section A of the form
and return it to your local office.

Contact Us

Visit dss.mo.gov/cd/office to find the contact information for an
office near you. Our offices are open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday

through Friday.

To report concerns of child abuse or neglect, call the Child

Abuse and Neglect Hotline at 1-800-392-3738. The Child Abuse
and Neglect Hotline is answered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week,

365 days a year.
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v’ Receive services in a language that you can understand

v' Legal representation in any court proceedings affecting
your child

v' File a formal grievance if you feel you are treated unfairly

v" Insert a statement in your case record, and if personnel
insert a statement in response, that statement is inserted
with your knowledge, and you have the opportunity to
review that response

v’ Contact an attorney before being interviewed as an
alleged perpetrator of child abuse and neglect

Reporting Other Concerns

Any complaint of discrimination based on race, color,
national origin, age, sex, disability, religious, or political
beliefs should be sent to:

Department of Social Services

Office of Civil Rights

P.O. Box 1527

Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: 1-800-776-8014

Text/Voice: 1-800-735-2466/1-800-735-2966

If you have a concern about the outcome of a child abuse
or neglect investigation, you should file an appeal through
the Child Abuse and Neglect appeal process.

Missouri Department of Social Services is an equal opportunity employer/program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

TDD/TTY: 800-735-2966, Relay Missouri: 711
08/20 (CS-132
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