Crime Victims’ Compensation (CVC)
Program

Missouri Department of Public Safety



CVC Benefits Available

Maximum Benefit
$25,000 for crime-related expenses and losses

Injured: Death:

Medical Funeral
Dental (up to $5,000)
. Loss of support
Counseling

Counseling
Lost Wages
(up to $400/week)




Losses not Covered

Including, but not limited to:

. Stolen or damaged property

. Pain and suffering

. Rent, mortgage payments or utilities

. Food and/or clothing costs

. Tuition reimbursement

. Monetary losses from investment schemes
. ldentity theft



CVC Eligibility Requirements

Crime must have occurred in Missouri
If occurred in another state, the victim must be a Missouri resident.
The state in which the crime occurred is primary.

Crime must be reported to the proper authorities
Typically law enforcement agencies or prosecuting attorneys

Domestic violence, sexual assault, human trafficking or stalking

Proper authorities also includes receiving a forensic examination by an appropriate
medical provider or securing an order of protection.



CVC Eligibility Requirements, con’t.

Application
Must be filed within 2 years of the crime or discovery of crime

Law Enforcement
Victim/claimant must cooperate with investigation

Contributory Conduct
Victim must not have contributed to their injuries
Victim must not have been in commission of crime



CVC Eligibility Requirements, con’t.

For a deceased victim,
the claimant must be an eligible
family member.

Spouse, parent, grandparent, step-mother, step-father, child,
grandchild, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister,
adopted children of parent or spouse’s parents

RSMo 595.101 (14)



CVC Required Documents

Injured:

Crime-related bills

(medical / dental / counseling)

Paid receipts
Prescriptions

Lost wages:

(if victim gainfully employed at time of crime)

3 paycheck stubs prior to crime

Release to return to work
(CVC will provide form)

Self-employed, tax returns

Death:

Funeral expenses
Paid receipts
Death certificate

Life insurance

Loss of support:

(if victim gainfully employed at time of crime)
Employer name and contact
information
Self-employed, tax returns

Dependent children:
Birth certificate
Guardianship papers




Changes as of October 30, 2021

OVERVIEW

NEW ELIGIBLE COSTS

FOR REIMBURSEMENT
PURPOSES ONLY

REQUIRED

CVC Application must be
submitted to CVC within
2 years of the crime date

Itemized Bills &
Paid Receipts

INELIGIBLE

Security Systems
Vehicles
Phones
Rent/Mortgage
Tuition
Relocation
Pain & Suffering

To be eligible for reimbursement, the losses MUST BE the result of a

compensable crime as defined by Section 595.010 (5) RSMo. — An act committed in
Missouri which involves the application of force or violence or the threat of force or
violence by the offender upon the victim, including the crime of driving while
intoxicated, involuntary manslaughter, and hit and run.

Lost earnings or support by claimant as a result of participating in the criminal justice
process, such as meeting with law enforcement or participating in court proceedings.
s Maximum reimbursement rate of $400/week, 580/day or 510/hour

Temporary lodging may be reimbursed -
«  ‘When claimant feels fear to return to claimant’s residence

* For actual expenses up to 14 days at locations open to general public that
charge for accommodation

Maximum reimbursement paid at CONUS per diem rates

Replacement costs for clothing and bedding may be reimbursed -
* Must be seized and held as evidence according to law enforcement report
- Maximum overall reimbursement limit of $200

Replacement or repair of locks at the victim’s residence may be reimbursed -
e Includes hardware and installation
. Maximum owverall reimbursement limit of $S200

Dependent care may be reimbursed -
* To allow victims to participate in criminal justice activities or secure medical
treatment and rehabilitation services
=  Only if such care would not have been incurred but for the compensable
crime
*« Dependent care provider must be licensed or registered with DHSS or D55
* Maximum owverall reimbursement limit of $200




The “Payment Notice” and “Award”

Eligible claims

A Notice of Payment Acceptance Form issues to victim/claimant

Notice of Payment Acceptance Form
Indicates which providers of service are to be paid and amount
Indicates any reimbursements that may be made to the victim/claimant
Victim/claimant must sign and return for payment to issue

Multiple Offers
Additional crime-related expenses can be considered
After verification process, another Notice of Payment will be sent



CVC Website

www.dps.mo.gov

>

COVID-19 STATE TEAM
MEMBER RESOURCES

Have questions?
Chat gbout COVID-19

National Crime Victims’ Rights Week * April 18 2021 Tweets by MoPublicSafety

Save Jhe Date

@

SUPPORT VICTIMS.

BUILD TRUST.

ENGAGE COMMUNITIES.

2021 Missouri Crime

Victims’ Rights Week
Observance & Ceremony
Capitol South Steps/Lawn

April 22, 2021 at Noon

Presented by the CVRW Planning

Committee of the Missouri
Department of Public Safety

Po'“Ihr Hnke _ pirector's Qffice Progra-s

DPS Strategic Management Priorities

Guide to Missouri Sexual Assault Survivors’

Rights
Missouri Public Safety Medals
Assistance for Crime Victims
State & Federal Grants

MO Sex Offender Registry

Survivor Benefits for Public Safety Officers
Killed in the Line of Duty

Missouri Sexual Assault Forensic
Examination Evidence Guidelines

Missouri Justice Reinvestment Initiative
Report

Missouri STOP Human Trafficking Poster

lims’ Rights Week Peace Officer Standards & Training (POST)
ri caliz attention to state’s
ting and protecting crime POST Discipline/Officer Complaint
Office of Homeland Security
T e PHCREL R SR Missouri Interoperability Center
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Office for Victims of Crime
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View all news



Office for Victims of Crime

RS,

Missouri Depariment of

@ Public Safety

Office for Victims of GCrime
National Crime Victims® Rights Week + April 18-24, 2021

Save e D
2021 Missouri Crime

Victims’ Rights Week
Observance & Ceremony
Capitol South Steps/Lawn
April 22, 2021 at Noon

Presented by the CVRW Planning
Committee of the Missouri
Department of Public Safety

Office for Victims of Crime

Dffice for Victims of Crime Home Page
Juvenile Justice Protections

Crime Victims® Compensation [CVC)
Crime Victim Rights

Juvenile Justice Protections

MOVANS [Missouri Victim Automated
Notification System)

Resources for Crime

Human Traficking

Funding Opportunities

SASP (Sexual Assault Services Program)
SSVF [State Services bo Victims Fund)
STOP VAWA (Violence Against Women Act)
Title 11 Formula Grant (Juvenile Justice)

Protection Program for Victims/ Witnesses of
Viglent Crime (PPVVC)

WebGrants Grants Management System

Contact

Department of Public Safety
Office for Vietims of Crime




lication

T

Missourl Department of

& Public Safety

Crime Victims' Compensation

Crime Victims' Compensation Home
Forms & Applications

CVCQ&A

Governance

Other Helpful Links
Programs
Crime Victims' Compensation (CVC)

Sexual Assault Forensic Examination Program
{SAFE)

Child Physical Abuse Forensic Examination
Program [CPAFE)

Contact

Department of Public Safety
Crime Victims' Cﬂmﬂ&rﬁﬂ“ﬂn

hilled b Ehe patiamnt.
Lo Lhy Bl asta it




Application

o

Missouri Department of

8 Public Safety

Crime Victims' Compensation

Crime Victims' Compensation Home
Forms & Applications

CVCQ&A

Governance

Other Helpful Links

Programs

x ey : x Crime Victims” Compensation (CVC)
Crime Victims' Compensation

Sexual Assault Forensic Examination Program
+ Application and Instructions (SAFE)
» Checklist
v-Brachurs Child Physical Abuse Forensic Examination
.
.

Fact Sheet Program (CPAFE)

Guidelines For Providers
Spanish Version

« Application and Instructions Contact
* Checklist

+ Brochure
Department of Public Safety
Crime Victims' Compensation

X 65102-1589

Sexual Assault Forensic Examination Program (SAFE) Phane: (573) 526-6006
Email: eve@dps.mo.gov

+ SAFE Report/Application

» Fact Sheet




Application

MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
APPLICATION FOR CRIME VICTIMS' COMPENSATION

INSTRUCTIONS: 1. Typs or Print clearly inink.
2. Last page of this form must be signad by claimant.

. [fvictim is a minor or an incompetent person, application MUST be made by a parent or guardian.
. If a question is NOT APPPLICABLE, answer with N/A.

MAILING ADDRESS TELEPHONE NUMBER RELAY MISSOURI
CRIME VICTIMS' COMPENSATION PROGRAM 573-526-6006 1-800-735-2966 (TDD)
P.0. BOX 744, JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65102-0749 1-800-347-6881 1-800-735-2466 (VOICE)

K2

» Complete the application

>

°,
0

» Signature required on 4t page
+ Click Submit or attach to an email

°,

(cve@dps.mo.gov)

| certify that | have read and understand the statements above; and that the information | have given is true and correct
to the best of my knowledge and belief and that these benefits will be denied if any such statements are not true.

Signature of Claimant

s under 18 years of age, this application must be signed by the parent or legal guardian whose name appears in "Section || — Claimant

SUBMIT [ Reset Form || Print Form |




IMPORTANT - Keep us updated!

If your contact information changes,
please let us know!

Mailing address
Phone number
Email



Questions? Contact us!

Missouri Crime Victims” Compensation Program
P.O. Box 1589
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1589
Phone: (573) 526-6006
E-mail: CVC@dps.mo.gov

Fax: (573) 526-4940

Juanita Monteer
573-526-5554 or Juanita.Monteer@dps.mo.gov


http://www.dps.mo.gov/

