New Hire Reporting
All employers in Missouri must report each newly hired employee to the Department of Revenue within 20 calendar days of hire. "Date of hire" is defined as the date the employee reports to work or the date the employee signs the federal W-4 form, whichever is earlier.
If you are an employer in Missouri, you may choose the form you use to report new hires. You must send either a copy of the federal W-4 form or a different form containing the following information to the Department of Revenue.
- Employee’s name, address and Social Security number
- Employer’s name, address and federal employer identification number
- Either the employee’s date of hire or the date the employee
signed the W-4 form (your option)
You may use one of the following reporting methods:
- Mail the W-4 or equivalent form to the Missouri Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 3340, Jefferson City, MO 65105-3340;
- Fax copies of the W-4 or equivalent form to (573) 526-8079;
- Electronically report employees via Secure File Transfer.
Note: If you are interested in reporting employees via Secure File Transfer, please contact Child Support at 1-888-663-6751 .
Employers having employees in two or more states and who transmit reports magnetically or electronically may choose one of the states to receive all its new hire reports. The employer must notify the secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), of the state (s)he has chosen. DHHS procedures to accomplish such selection and notification are available on-line:
Multistate Employer Registration for New Hire Reporting.
The law states an employer who intentionally fails to submit information on an employee is guilty of an infraction and will be fined not more than $25. If the failure to report is the result of a conspiracy between the employer and the employee to not supply the required report or to supply a false or incomplete report the fine will be $350 for each failure to report or each false or incomplete report.
Here is what happens to the reports after you submit them.
Department of Revenue: Staff will forward the federal W-4 form or its equivalent to Child Support.
Child Support: Staff will use the information to locate parents and alleged fathers and to establish, enforce, and modify support orders.
You can learn more about New Hire Reporting in sections 285.300 through 285.306 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri. You may also call 1-888-663-6751.