Family Support Division
Supplemental Aid to the Blind
The Supplemental Aid to the Blind (SAB) program is operated in Missouri in conjunction with a totally state-supported blind pension program. Through the SAB program, the state provides blind persons who meet certain requirements with reasonable subsistence in accordance with the standards developed by the Family Support Division. Eligible individuals receive a monthly cash grant up to and including $711, as well as Mo HealthNet Coverage.
Who Is Eligible?
The person who:
- is 18 years of age or older;
- is living in Missouri and intends to remain;
- is a United States citizen or eligible qualified non-citizen;
- is single and does not own real and personal property worth more than $2,000 or, if married and living with spouse, does not own real and personal property worth more that $4,000, individually or together (NOTE: In figuring the value of the property, the following is not considered: the home in which the blind person lives, clothing, furniture, household equipment, personal jewelry, or any property used directly by the blind person in earning a living.);
- does not have parents living in Missouri, nor a sighted spouse who can provide support;
- does not publicly solicit alms;
- is determined to be blind as defined by law (vision less than 5/200 or visual field of less than 5 degrees);
- is not a resident of a public, private, or endowed institution except a public medical institution;
- is in need of assistance because there is insufficient income to meet basic needs, and
- applies for Supplemental Security Income.
For information regarding medical coverage included with Supplemental Aid to the Blind, see MO HealthNet Services–Mo HealthNet